PGA Tour Officials make ABSOLUTE HASH of sprinkler ruling at WGC Match Play 

PGA Tour officials changed a ruling midway through the first day of the WGC Match Play that negatively impacted Thomas Pieters but benefitted Bryson DeChambeau. 

Next to the 13th green, Pieters' ball came to rest on a sprinkler head after two shots. 

He assumed he was entitled to relief, but this wasn't the case. 

The sprinkler head was deemed inside the penalty area as the grass with red paint was resting against the top of the sprinkler. 

Pieters was not best pleased and he carelessly chipped his ball off the sprinkler and lost the hole. Thankfully for him, he won the match. 

The exact same thing happened to Bryson DeChambeau in his match with Richard Bland. 

But DeChambeau was given free relief and he was able to tie the hole and tie his match with the Englishman. 

Rules official Craig Winter was covering DeChambeau's match and he contacted Young to say they had the same situation 

But this time, they ruled it differently and gave the former US Open champion relief in order to correct the rule. 

Miami Dolphins acquire Tyreek Hill for $120 million